What the Heck is Natural Health Anyway?

      First, off I bet your thinking why should I learn about natural health? I know everything already about being healthy.  I eat my fruits and vegetables, take my gummy bear vitamins, get at least eight hours of sleep a night, and drink lots of water.  Well, what if there was a way to achieve even better health and improve your life not just temporarily but in the long run.  Integrating natural health into your life will do this and more.
I thought it would be helpful to start with a little background information on natural health and what it is all about.  In my blogs to come, I will be delving into the subject of natural health and addressing mostly topics related to living a healthy lifestyle.   As stated by Wikipedia, natural health is an eclectic self-care system of natural therapies that builds and restores health and wellness by working with the natural recuperative powers of the human body.  Naturopathic philosophy favors a holistic approach and minimal use of surgery and drugs.  Natural health has nothing to do with magic or new age mysticism as many people would like to believe.  It also is not just practiced by hippies or crazy granola people! Traditionally, it is about the natural healing therapies of prevention and healthy lifestyles, eating natural whole foods, nutritional supplements, physical exercise, and stress management.  I think a really important aspect of natural health is if you listen to your body and treat it right, it always will reward you with good health. Natural health does not try to treat the symptoms but tries to heal the root causes of problems.
I hope to address ways that we as college students especially can enhance our lives and make sure that we are treating our bodies’ right.  I will end this post with a tip that will hopefully open your eyes to how important health can be in relation to school.  Did you know that a 4-5% reduction in your water intake might reduce your concentration and performance by as much as 30%?  Many times drinking water seems like an afterthought but this shows that staying hydrated throughout the day is an essential part of staying healthy.  If you have any questions or topics or questions you would like to know about let me know.

Also, to get you started on thinking about your health here is a link to the Dr. Oz How Healthy Are You Quiz?  It is pretty in-depth but really helps you analyze your lifestyle.  Click Here To Begin!

2 thoughts on “What the Heck is Natural Health Anyway?

  1. I like your idea for a blog, as college students it is difficult to stay healthy especially with the amount of food available to us at the dining halls. The freshman 15 phenomenon is also upon us, so any way you can encourage people and let them know how and what to eat is a wonderful way to keep them living better.

  2. I'm glad to see that there is some statistical correlation to the water-studying tactic. I know that I definitely study better while drinking water! It's great to see your dedication to bettering the health of college students. I consider myself a healthy person, but sometimes it gets difficult to maintain in a college world where you are constantly surrounded by Canyon Pizza and the Creamery. I can't wait to read your future entries!

Leave a Reply

