Thirsty??

As a college student temptations and unhealthy meal options are all around us in the dining halls, convenience stores, and fast food restaurants.  We choose these options because of their easy access, quickness, and affordability.  But the question I am posing is at what cost?
I know what cost all to well…hello freshman 15, hello sluggishness, and hello acne.  It seems like even when I work out but I feed my body unhealthy food I still feel down and not at my best.  This is why I have come up with an easy change that you can make to your diet right now!  My first idea is……….Soda Be Gone!!!
            The real question is why do we continue to drink it when we know it is bad for us! When soda is consumed between meals and sipped over a long period of time, sugar remains in the mouth for prolonged periods of time.  Picture rotting brown teeth riddled with cavities.  Yum right? More shocking is the impact soda consumption has on increasing obesity rates, hyperactivity, osteoporosis, dietary deficiencies, and caffeine dependence in children or young adults.  All of these great side effects seem like they don’t affect you but they do!  By cutting soda out of your diet you avoid these side effects and gain even more health benefits.  Also word of caution, diet soda is not a better alternative. One 12-ounce diet cola contains 200 milligrams of aspartame, or the equivalent of six blue packets of a sugar substitute. There are over 92 different health effects associated with aspartame consumption including headaches, birth defects, diabetes, emotional disorders and seizures.  Fun fact airline pilots aren’t allowed to eat foods containing aspartame because it affects their judgment, which is documented by real incidents and situations that have occurred.   Wow I bet you are thirsty now!
            As I wrap up this post, I would like to leave you with some alternatives to soda especially if your reason as a college student is I need the caffeine.   Personally, I resort to drinking caffeinated tea, which I believe is one of the best options.  Also, if you are eating healthy foods and a well-balanced diet you will feel more energized and won’t need the caffeine as much.  A word of precaution though is many health websites do not recommend replacing soda with a fruit juice or milk even though they may seem healthier.  As I said in my earlier post the health benefits of water are amazing and cannot compete with any other substance. By drinking water you will never go wrong!  Look out for more posts like these in the future with tips that can apply to your everyday life and help make it healthier one step at a time.
2 thoughts on “Thirsty??

  1. I'm actually so excited that your blog topic is natural health. I am really into healthy foods, and I'd love to learn more about the ways I can keep my health-kick going. The facts you presented are extremely helpful, and your sarcasm is perfect. Definitely adds a good feeling to your blog and makes a reader interested in healthy choices!

  2. Kaitlyn,I agree with your post on not drinking soda. I drink soda very rarely and many people do not realize just how much sugar is in soda. On the rare occasion where I drink soda a lot, I can feel the difference in my body and feel sluggish. I usually drink a fruit juice instead, but I did not know that it is not that much better of a substitute. I will attempt to drink water a lot more now. Great post!

Leave a Reply

